2.5PI Power steering rack

Cambouis

Hello.

I'm new here so please be kind!

I'm a mechanic, working in France and I have here a 2.5PI 1970 that the boss bought for a very fair price as a non runner.  It now runs after I rebuilt the fuel injection and its pump (I have a fair amount of experience with Lucas injection).

I thought I would save some money and rebuild the very leaky PAS rack myself and bought a kit of seals

I have read elsewhere that this is a DIY proposition.  I would say just possibly but I doubt it.  The problem I have in particular is the four plastic rings that fit onto the shaft in the control tower.  I have in fact wrecked some of them since they are so inflexible and their internal diameter is so small that the stretch even if one can get them onto the shaft!  I even tried putting the part into the deep freeze overnight to try to shrink it a bit as I would when fitting bearings.  No go.

Has anyone done this job?  And if so what am I doing wrong?!  Is it "special tools"?

Thanks in advance.

Paul

Update:

Lacking another seal kit, I decided to try to save the stretched plastic seals (three of the four in fact).

I wrapped them in cloth and compressed them for an hour each with a hose clamp - unfortunately I didn't have any shim material which would have been ideal.  Anyway with the aid of a "persuader" - a Brummagem screwdriver - I managed to get the well-lubricated piece back into its housing and it feels pretty much OK.

Now the next problem:  the housing at the other end from the control tower contains a thick rubber seal.  Unfortunately this is retained by a steel ring pressed into the housing.  the only way I could imagine removing the ring would be with a large bearing extractor and heavy slide hammer as there is no way whereby it can be clouted from the other end - nothing to get on.