Rotoflex Telescopic Damper Conversion Kit

timireson

hi
has anyone used this?
Rotoflex Telescopic Damper Conversion Kit from moss?

it seems like a good idea, coud then get the whole suspension build up before the body goes back on.

is £109 each for koni adjusyable standard shocks a good price? struggling to find what i need, as no one seems to use the same part numbers.

any help/guidance gratfuly received as im getting out of my depth now.

t

The kit moves the damper's top mounting forward so it's centre is in line with the non-rotoflex mounting. This in turn is somewhat further forward than the lower mounting on the upright.
I've no personal experience of these in use so I couldn't say how this affects the suspension in the real world.

Cheers,
Bill.

I've been using this kit for about 10 years on my GT6 with no issues. Some people don't like the way the shocks are tilted at an angle but I've found no issues with this in terms of handling. I recently replaced the mounting rubbers after 10 years as I had a squeak but it turned out not to be the rubber mounts so they didn't actually need replacing even after 10 years of use.

Handling is good and no issues with bottoming out etc. Koni are definitely the best shocks in terms of longevity, they are expensive initially but compared with the likes of Spax, Gaz  and Avo etc will outlast several times over. Only issue is they cant be adjusted in situ. Officially they have to be adjusted officially off the car (although I have managed to adjust with the top mounts left in situ).

cook1e wrote:
I've been using this kit for about 10 years on my GT6 with no issues. Some people don't like the way the shocks are tilted at an angle but I've found no issues with this in terms of handling. I recently replaced the mounting rubbers after 10 years as I had a squeak but it turned out not to be the rubber mounts so they didn't actually need replacing even after 10 years of use.