Rear trunnion replacement

Nilfisken

Hi,
after having rebuilt the whole front suspension it is time to give some attention to the rear. The car has the typical syndrome of slightly jammed movements and likes to stay low down for a while if two people have been sitting in the car so I think the trunnions are the main offenders. I have tried to search on the forum but cant find all the answers I'm after so I post yet another thread. Maybe we should make an effort to compile something similar to the guide for front trunnions that were produced by Phil(?) after the last long thread of snapped front trunnions? I plan to deal with the trunnions this weekend if weather permits, I'm still a driveway mechanic but looking for a new house with garage before the winter...

Before starting with the questions I let you know what tools I have available, let me know if I miss something obvious:
One trunnion kit with bolts and nylocs bought from Chic-Doig. There seem to be a lot of postings of inferior kits with plastic bushes that brakes and metal sleeves that are to long from a few years back, is it still a big issue?

I have an angle grinder ready, a small hacksaw that should reach in narrow areas and that has proven itself strong enough to go through the bolts at the front and I have a grease gun for greasing the assembly after installation. Also have a pretty powerful blowtorch but not sure if that is recommended given all the grease and bearings inside the assembly? Apart from this a pile of standard tools is available.

OK, on to the two more specific question:

1) Am I right in assuming that if the car is jacked up and placed on stands under the chassis rails in a way that the rear wheels are fully of the ground and clearly tuck in under the car that there shouldn't be any tension left in the spring so that if I actually succeed in getting the trunnions out I hopefully shouldn't have more than the weight of the drive axle and brake parts to fight against?