robche

Hi all

So - failed MOT on worn trunnion bushes. Bought some new trunnions and bush kits but need some advice please. I thought I may as well replace the trunnion, inspect the upright etc while I was there. I'm new to Triumphs...

1) Do I really need to remove the whole hub assembly to remove the trunnion?

2) Manual says zinc grease for assembly, any alternatives? (I don't have it and neither does local motor factor)

Any advice appreciated!
Rob

(PS: I did a search of the tech section for 'trunnion' and it brought back no results... that can't right?)

Hi Rob,
           there is a 'white' grease that is water proof. Most other greases will allow moisture in including 'copperslop' (I like that name)

If the front hub assembly hasn't been apart for quite some time it may well be worth the extra work to take it all apart and see what else needs doing.
It really isn't that much extra work. Having said that I have A TR not a Herald.
Again not being familiar with the herald if it is like the TR - inspect the bottom of the vertical link that fits into the TRunion for corrosion. If it is corroded/pitted it would need changing

Roger

Thanks Roger - I have a front end rebuild planned but trying to get the trunnion changed for the MOT.

I'll just strip it down, I may as well get it sorted properly!

I have found some white zinc grease on Amazon but I'm sure any water repellant grease will be fine. As you say, it's more of a barrier than a lubricant that's needed.

Cheers all!
Rob

Rob - to answer your question, to unscrew the trunnion you have to take the hub/brake disc assembly off first; there's not enough room to allow the trunnion to turn through 360deg otherwise.