Strugglin' to understand rear brakes - GT6 Mk3  

THe Maestro

As my GT6 Mk3 failed on everything brake related in its MOT a couple of months ago I've set about overhauling them all.  Front brakes a doddle (so far), swapped the calipers and pads in no time, but then it came to the rears.  These are the late GT6 self adjust brakes, the same as in this other person's car:

http://www.teglerizer.com/triumphstuff/73gt6br_selfadjust.htm

I've dismantled the whole lot and cleaned everything out, replaced the brake cylinders and shoes and put everything bake together (see attached picture).  

Anyway I'm not sure how they are supposed to work - I can see how the top of one of the shoes will be pushed out by the wheel cylinder piston into the inside of the drum causing some braking, but it seems the bottom part of that shoe and the entire other shoe are not going to move at all.  So why have two shoes when only the top part of one of them does anything useful?

Okay, so I'm not an expert on GT6 self adjusters but I the general idea is the same as the brakes on my 1500. Basically the wheel cylinder expanding pushes the one pad out but, because the wheel cylinder slides on the backplate, it also pushes the other shoe onto the drum as well. The peculiar adjuster at the bottom pushes out the bottom of the shoes to adjust for wear. That's pretty much it!  :)

willcolumbine wrote:
Okay, so I'm not an expert on GT6 self adjusters but I the general idea is the same as the brakes on my 1500. Basically the wheel cylinder expanding pushes the one pad out but, because the wheel cylinder slides on the backplate, it also pushes the other shoe onto the drum as well. The peculiar adjuster at the bottom pushes out the bottom of the shoes to adjust for wear. That's pretty much it!  :)

the adjuster isn't at the bottom of the brake shoe.  The adjuster is the ratchet on the wheel cylinder and pushes the tops of the shoes apart in order to adjust for wear. Otherwise your spot on.